top of page


4th Italian Zebrafish Meeting

Palermo 7-8-9 February 2024

The University of Palermo in collaboration with Fondazione Guido Bernardini warmly invites you to join the fourth Italian Zebrafish Meeting. After Padua (2017), Pisa (2019), and Naples (2022), the fourth edition will take place in Palermo on 7-8-9 February 2024. The meeting will begin with afternoon sessions on Wednesday, February 7, and conclude at lunch time on Friday, February 9, 2024.

This meeting will provide a forum for presentation and discussion of the most innovative and exciting research currently ongoing in Italy using the zebrafish model. By providing broad coverage of a wide range of topics, the scientific program will allow the dissemination of cutting-edge research and will shed light on its future directions, by strengthening existing partnerships and by forging new collaborations.

Oral and poster presentations will be selected from submitted abstracts, and three keynote lectures will be given by prominent scientists in the worldwide zebrafish community. Moreover, the meeting has designated time for selected poster preview talks, poster sessions, and communal meals, to foster open scientific exchange and informal networking opportunities among participants of all career stages.

Abstract submissions from trainees, and junior as well as underrepresented investigators is especially encouraged, since they are likely to benefit most from this meeting.

The meeting will be fully conducted in English and welcomes participants from abroad.


Come and join us from February 7th to 9th, 2024.

We look forward to welcoming you in Palermo!

Keynote Speakers

Stefan Schulte-Merker, WU Münster 

Antonio Giraldez, Yale School of Medicine

Lior Appelbaum, Bar Ilan University


Vincenzo Cavalieri, Università degli Studi di Palermo (Chair)

Massimiliano Andreazzoli, Università di Pisa 
Francesco Argenton, Università degli Studi di Padova
Cristiano Bertolucci, Università degli Studi di Ferrara
Dario Finazzi, Università degli Studi di Brescia  
Chiara Gabellini, Università di Pisa 
Marina Mione, Università di Trento
Anna Pistocchi, Università degli  Studi di Milano
Massimo Santoro, Università degli Studi di Padova
Paolo Sordino,  Stazione Zoologica Anton Dohrn

Organizing Committee

Vincenzo Cavalieri, Università degli Studi di Palermo

Francesco Carù, Fondazione Guido Bernardini

Salvatore Costa, Università degli Studi di Palermo

Antonella Lauri, Ospedale Pediatrico Bambino Gesù di Roma

Fabio Marino, Università di Messina

Giuseppe Montalbano, Università di Messina

Gaia Pucci, Università degli Studi di Palermo

Daniele Tibullo, Università di Catania

Tiziano Verri, Università del Salento

Our Sponsors 

LOGO Viewpoint_Behavior_Technology - Copy.png
NIT logo - darkgreen&lime - RGB.tif
bottom of page